PVP Logic

Options
I am not a game designer so maybe I am missing something, but the PVP point formula seems to over reward one play style over all the others(waiting until an hour or two before end of session to play and then jamming games, timeshift this if you are going to shield)

If this purely money grab to make shielding mandatory?

Multiple times I got attack by 250/166/Kingpin Over 130 teams lost more than twenty points and could only counterattack to gain 14-16 points with my 127/127/100 team. I understand there needs to be some kind of rubber banding mechanism, but this just seems ludicrous. Why not base point loss on the strength of the team that beat you?

Wahoo for finishing #101 for that 1,000th Daken cover, sorry it was Wolverine that should be 2,000th Wolverine cover.

Comments

• MarvelMan
    MarvelMan Posts: 1,350
    Options
    Make note that there are reports of being unable to enter a PVP within 1 hour of it closing.

Aside from that, the rewarded play style is to climb to just below your equilibrium point (based on time/roster strength) and wait for health packs to recover and for the planned shield schedule to be viable, then make a massive/fast push and shield. Then hop at the "right" times to desired score.
  • OnesOwnGrief
    OnesOwnGrief Posts: 1,387 Chairperson of the Boards
    Options
    From what I've seen this season, very few late players on PvP reach top 10 because all the high called targets past a point are shielded. If you don't care about personal placement then that's fine but you run the risk of lowering overall alliance score.
  • Phumade
    Phumade Posts: 2,477 Chairperson of the Boards
    Options